McGovern Announces New Deadline for Small Business Owners to Apply for Winter Recovery Aid

Today, Congressman Jim McGovern (MA-02) announced that the application deadline for Massachusetts state and local agencies, tribes and certain private nonprofit agencies that may be eligible for federal disaster assistance for damages associated with the January 26-28, 2015 Blizzard has been extended to June 10, 2015.

“In 2015, Massachusetts faced one of our harshest winters and this federal aid will provide much-needed relief for our small businesses working to recover,” Congressman McGovern said. “Our small businesses and local non-profits are key to keeping our communities strong and economy growing in Worcester and across the Commonwealth. I am pleased the deadline to apply for this aid has been extended to June 10 and encourage all eligible residents to apply.”

To be eligible for assistance, applicants must submit Request for Public Assistance (RPA) forms to the Massachusetts Emergency Management Agency (MEMA) by the deadline date. The RPA is an applicant’s official notification to the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) of its intent to apply for disaster assistance.

Assistance was authorized through the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) under a Major Disaster Declaration for Public Assistance (PA). The disaster assistance has been made available to ten (10) counties: Barnstable, Bristol, Dukes, Essex, Middlesex, Nantucket, Norfolk, Plymouth, Suffolk and Worcester Counties. All counties had eligible costs that exceeded federal financial thresholds.

Under the Public Assistance Program, affected local governments, state agencies, tribes, and eligible private non-profit organizations are eligible to apply for reimbursement by the federal government for 75 percent of the approved costs of emergency protective measures, storm-related overtime for first responders, clearing debris from public roads and public property, and repairing, replacing, restoring or reconstructing damaged public facilities and infrastructure.

In addition, municipalities and state agencies, tribal nations, and certain private non-profits in nine (9) counties: Worcester, Barnstable, Bristol, Dukes, Essex, Middlesex, Norfolk, Plymouth, and Suffolk Counties are eligible for Snow Assistance because these counties received a record or near record (within 10 percent of the record) snowfall. Eligible applicants in the nine counties will be reimbursed for 75 percent of their costs for a continuous 48 hour period of snow plowing, snow removal and road surface treatment associated with the blizzard of January 26-28.

Copies of the Request for Public Assistance form can be obtained from the MEMA website at: Completed RPA forms can be scanned and emailed to or faxed to (508) 820-1404. FEMA has specific guidelines for determining eligibility of Private Non-Profits (PNPs) which require submission of additional forms and documentation. These required PNP forms are also available on the MEMA website. PNPs are reminded that all required documentation must be submitted to MEMA by the June 10, 2015 deadline.

"A snowy Boston Common" by Bill Damon licensed under CC BY 2.0
A press release from Congressman Jim McGovern's Office.